This play happened last night… Brett Gardner was inexplicably called safe. I complained. The world complained.
And in the first time in the history of dumb sports rules, logic prevailed!
Torre (in 8 minutes longer than necessary) explained this afternoon that they’re “adjusting” the rule back to the way it was. When you catch the ball, the out is made. The transfer of the ball to throwing hand is irrelevant, as it has been since the beginning of time. I guarantee that that play last night was the final straw that forced the change, and thank God it did.
I know we’re not in the business of reporting on rules, but I felt this was worth a share.